liralen: Finch Painting (Toast)
[personal profile] liralen
I've pretty much tolerated a whole lot of kid movies lately. Ice Age 2, Hoodwinked, Madagascar, The Wild, Chicken Little, Doogle, etc. were all crap movies, all in all. They had a few laughs, a few star voices, a few action sequences, and nearly all of them had no plot to speak of, especially in comparison to The Incredibles. They were expensive entertainment that weren't that memorable, but Jet liked 'em.

Akeelah and the Bee was something a little different. Actual PEOPLE! Oh my God, people! In a mildly more realistic setting. Okay, even more than mildly. Then ooooo... character flaws! Okay, so once again there's only broken families, but then given that that is still fairly likely to happen, I don't have too much beef with that.

But then it became a work of language. Rich, deep, colorful language that just grabbed me by my poetry brain, the clouds of meanings brain and I was like oh! THAT's why anyone on God's Green Earth might enter a bee.

I love words. I really do. I hate spelling them, with a passion. I am, somehow, completely messed up for spelling them. I did great on the English SATs by doing some of the same drills the Professor does with Akeelah, but I didn't do them to spell them, I did them to comprehend them, use them, abuse them, and I use them now, professionally, to persuade, question, and conjole folks into doing the things that I believe we need to do and lend me their brains to help do it. I still, however, can't, for the life of me, spell them. My husband is kind and helps me with forming them, and I lean on spell checkers and grammar checkers for dear life.

So, by the latter parts of the movie I was in awe. Not just of the spellers, but also of the delicious two-step of the plot, especially at the end.

Wow.

Go see it if you love the English language. It has in it, twice, my most favorite quote ever.

There's no violence, nothing flashy, not a single special effect. It has a kid in a hard, realistic situation, and that's all that's needed. I loved the storytelling and actually cried through most of it. But then I always cry at courage...

Date: 2006-05-09 08:29 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] foomf.livejournal.com
I've noticed, you sometimes come up with a fusion word like "conjole" that carries a good deal more meaning than simply "conjoin" + "enjoin" + "cajole" ... but I don't ever know if you mean to combine them that way or if it's just synchronicitous felicity. (I meant serendipitous but it took forever to find that word.)

Was going to ask if you have seen the Wallace and Gromit films, and if you count them as Jet-safe yet.

Date: 2006-05-09 03:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] liralen.livejournal.com
*giggles* It's mostly serendipitous... and may be a product of the fact that I think of words in 'clouds' of meaning, not by definition and exact spelling... so... it's probably a product of the fact that I am not very good at spelling, but love word meanings. I know, for some that's no excuse for getting it wrong... but... thank you for enjoying them!

We've seen the Wallace and Gromit film and all the originals as well, they're very Jet-safe, and he loves all the little ones and is not that enamored of the Were-Rabbit. It's a little too scary for him.

Date: 2006-05-09 01:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] janne.livejournal.com
As a random observation, I went to see Madagascar with an (adult) friend and we both laughed ourselves silly over it, while Cat found it only moderately funny when I bought it for her on dvd later. I suspect one has to look for the right subtext to enjoy it...

Date: 2006-05-09 03:40 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] liralen.livejournal.com
Cool! :-) I'm glad you enjoyed it.

I was too wrapped up in how much I hated the lack of any real plot to enjoy it, but that's my own fault. *grin*

Date: 2006-05-09 09:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] silkiemom.livejournal.com
The kids adored Madagascar. They watch it over and over. Yes, it was thin on plot, but what I really hated was that the smart, sensible advisor lemur was WRONG, and the insane, idiot king lemur was RIGHT. Just to give the story a happy ending. :P

Date: 2006-05-14 02:31 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gregbo.livejournal.com
FYI, a former spelling bee contestant's (http://gregbo.livejournal.com/78398.html) opinion of spelling bees.

Date: 2006-05-14 02:42 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] liralen.livejournal.com
Cool! Thank you for pointing me to that and for writing that! :-) Actually, in the movie, the girl runs into some of the same questions you turn up, like the whole tradeoff between studying for the bee and studying for her academics. It doesn't actually make much meaningful commentary on it, but still...

Neat to see your take on it from having done it. Thanks!

March 2025

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
910 1112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 12:19 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios